The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

The statement that greatness of individuals can only be recognised in retrospect by the people after them and not by the contemporaries is an unfair generalization. While some areas, particularly physical sciences, greatness must be tested over time before it can be confirmed, there are other areas, especially in the arts, where greatness is recognizable in its nascent stages. In still other areas, for example in business, incubation period for greatness varies from case to case basis.

One does not need a rear-view mirror to recognize artistic greatness whether in visual arts, music or literature. The reason for this is simple: art can be judged at face value. There is nothing to be later proved or disproved, affirmed or discredited, or even improved upon or refined by new knowledge or technology. History is replete with examples of artistic greatness immediately recognized then later confirmed. Through his patronage Pope recognized Michelangelo’s artistic greatness, while the monarchs of Europe recognized Mozart’s greatness by granting him their most generous commissions. Mark Twain became a best-selling author and a household name during his own lifetime. The leaders of modernist school of architecture marvelled even as Frank Lloyd Wright was elevating their notions about architecture to new aesthetic heights.

By contrast, in physical sciences it is difficult to identify greatness without the benefit of historical perspective. Any scientific theory might be disproved tomorrow, thereby demoting the contribution of the theorist to the status of historical footnote, or a theory can withstand centuries of rigorous scientific scrutiny. In any event, a theory may or may not serve as a springboard for later advances in theoretical sciences. A current example involves the ultimate significance of the two opposing theories of physics: the wave theory and the quantum theory. Some theorists now claim that a new so-called ‘string’ theory reconciles the two opposing theories – at least mathematically. Though ‘strings’ are not yet confirmed empirically, only time will tell if this theory indeed provides the unifying law that all the matter in the universe obey. In short, significance of the contribution by theoretical scientists cannot be confirmed by their contemporaries – only by the scientists who follow them.

In the realm of business, while some contributions are recognized as great immediately, some are not. Consider on one hand, Henry Ford’s assembly-line approach for manufacturing affordable cars for the masses. Even Ford could not have predicted the impact of his innovation on American economy or on the modern world. On the other hand, by any measure, Bill Gates has made an even greater contribution than Ford; after all, Gates is largely responsible for lifting the American technology out of the doldrums and restoring America’s status of economic powerhouse and technological leader of the world. And this contribution is readily recognizable – as it is happening now. Of course, DOS and the Microsoft operating system, and even Gate’s monopoly, might eventually become Historical relics; his greatness is already secured.

In conclusion, the statement overlooks the examples of many great individuals, particularly in arts and business, whose achievements were broadly recognized as great during their own time. Nevertheless, other great achievements, especially scientific ones, cannot be confirmed as such without the benefit of historical perspective.