The human mind will always be superior to machines because machines are only tools of human minds.

Mind is that element of the human entity that enables them to think, feel and experience about the world around them, whereas machines are the creations of human minds intended to reduce human efforts whether mental or physical. The statement contends that human minds will always be superior to machines as the latter is just a tool of the former. Given that superiority implies the complete control of human minds over machines, rather than better performance in one task or the other, the former will remain superior, no matter how good the machine performs an assigned task.

Machines have limited intelligence and are designed to perform specific tasks in given circumstances. While they may perform an assigned task more efficiently than humans without fatigue or mistake, it requires the task to be well-defined. On the other hand, they may not be useful when the task is vague and requires human intellect either to perform an undefined task or to define the question and decide the subsequent steps to achieve the solution. For example, a translator programmed to translate the voice in one language into another cannot comprehend the voice modulation or nuances of human speech. Another compelling example is scientific research. Though computers can solve complex mathematical equations, they cannot formulate new scientific theories or bring about new inventions. Similarly, telescopes can It requires the abstract thinking or creativity of human mind to find the unknown or new invention. Therefore, machines are just tools to reduce human labour albeit with limited capabilities.

The debate about superiority of human minds over machines has recently intensified due to emergence of artificial intelligence and machine learning. Artificial intelligence is the ability of a machine to find solutions in any circumstances by imitating the human thought process rather than relying on a pre-designed algorithm. While researchers have achieved a limited success in developing these ‘smart machines, there is a concern if they can ultimately surpass the decision making abilities of human minds. However, this ever evolving technology that purportedly threats the superiority of ‘human mind’ is also its brainchild thus further corroborating the statement. Moreover, unlike these advanced machines, humans can learn from past experiences, modify their problem solving strategies and enhance their learning.

Moreover, one must not forget that a human mind is not just a decision making entity but has a combination of intelligence, emotions and to some extent spiritual quotients. No machine can ever emulate the latter two qualities. Machines can never make decisions requiring an emotional or ethical outlook. For example, in a scenario where a firm is making losses, unlike a sensible manager a ‘smart machine’ may suggest disproportionately higher job cuts without even considering the adverse effects of such a strategy on the lives of the loyal employees as well as on the reputation of the company. Or consider the case of international conflicts, computers despite their advanced intelligence cannot solve, say for example, the ‘middle east crisis’ which is purely a matter of human wisdom and expertise.

In conclusion, though machines can surpass human sin one aspect or the other, they are still designed, developed and controlled by the human mind. Since the argument extends the its validity to eternity by using ‘always’, it is safe to say that as long as human minds can create and control machines, it will remain superior to its tools.