The best test of an argument is the argument's ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

According to the renowned essayist Paul Graham, differing individuals resort to various techniques to disagree the opposing viewpoints whether it is contradicting the speaker, questioning his credentials, criticizing his tone or even name calling. Yet, none is more effective than an argument cogent enough to convince the opponents. The statement contends that the best test of any argument is its ability to convince people with an opposing viewpoint. While, the strength of an argument can be evaluated in terms of its persuading power, convincing others is not merely dependent upon the merit of the argument.

Admittedly, as delineated by Graham’s hierarchy of disengagement, the most powerful argument is that which explicitly refutes the central idea of the opposing viewpoint, thus leaving no scope for the latter to prevail. Consider, for example, a criminal trial in a court where the prosecutor argues that the bloody gloves retrieved from the murder site belonged to the defendant. The defendant’s lawyer refutes the allegation by showing that the gloves were too small for the defendant’s hands, thereby leaving no room for the prosecutor to disagree. Moreover, to convince an opponent, an individual must not only corroborate his argument with sound examples and reasoning but also analyse it from different angles in different settings to rectify any fallacies. All of this ultimately serves to strengthen the argument. For example, to convince his detractors about heliocentric nature of the solar system, Galileo had to back his theory with undeniable experiments, observations and reasoning. Thus, the ability of an argument to persuade someone is indeed an indication of its strength.

However, convincing people with opposing viewpoints is not solely a matter of an argument’s strength but is also stringent upon the nature of the people engaged. As Mark Twain rightly puts out, ‘It is difficult to win an argument against an intelligent person, but impossible against a fool’. The opposing lot may not have required intellectual capacity to comprehend the logic of an argument. Sometimes a sound argument may not suffice to convince them; whereas, in some instances they may find a fallacious idea far too convincing. Similarly, some of the people’s views might be so deeply engrossed in their minds that they become too biased, even stubborn, to consider any contrasting argument. For example, people practising immoral cult rituals are often too blinded to listen to the contrary arguments, let alone agree. Moreover, despite a weak argument a debater can still convince people by employing some psychological tactics, such as conceding to some of the oppenents’ other views in order pass on his argument to them.

Therefore, while the ability of an argument to win over others’ opinion can signify its strength, it is not the best test always. Yet, it is safe to say that the best test of an argument is to listen to opposing opinions and reconcile them for the reason that such an argument ensures growth and prevents impasse. For instance, the 19th century Physicists argued about the wave nature of the light. However, some later observations defied this argument. To address the issue, Einstein and Planck argued in favour of the particles nature of light while still accommodating the previous wave argument, resulting in the modern theory of dual-nature of light. Furthermore, when people argue with the empathy to listen to others’ perspectives, they get insights into their own argument which helps them to develop it thoroughly and further strengthen it.

In conclusion, the ability of an argument to convince its opponent is indicative of its strength. However, the criterion is not always objective as convincing opponents also depends upon their intellect and nature apart from the argument’s soundness. Moreover, the best test of an argument is its ability to consider opposing perspectives and reconcile them to ensure growth as well as self-development of tthe argument itself.