The best test of an argument is the argument s ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint

Everyone has different opinions and ideas regarding a particular matter, so persuading others with different perspectives is difficult to accomplish. The author asserts that convincing someone with a conflicting view is the best indicator of an argument. However, I cannot entirely agree with the statement because other possible measures exist to evaluate an argument.

Admittedly, in some cases, the author's assertion that the best test of an argument is to convince others with contrasting viewpoints may hold true. Since reaching a consensus with individuals having different opinions is a difficult task, making others follow one person's argument should be considered a significant achievement. Take Susan B. Anthony, for example. In the early 20th century, women were not eligible to vote. With her aim to achieve women's suffrage, she infringed upon the New York law and participated in the election. At first, she received severe criticism from the government, but she later successfully convinced the U.S. government, providing women equal, fundamental rights to vote. Later, the government issued the 19th amendment, which banned citizens from being denied the right to vote based on sex. Accordingly, based on the above example, the author's claim that the best test of an argument is to persuade people with disparate perspectives seems plausible to some degree.

However, persuading individuals with contrasting views is not the best criterion for an argument. People could rather be allured to other perspectives and resort to different viewpoints. In this case, they could not maintain the value of their idea. To Ilustre this point, George Orwell's highly acclaimed novel 1984 is a compelling instance. The government, Big Brother, dominates the entire society and brainwashes its people by revising historical facts. In this society, individual expression is hampered because the government is too powerful to collapse. Winston Smith, the protagonist, aimed to reveal the government's corruption, so he tried to convince other citizens to join his movement. However, at the end of the plot, he not only failed to win over the government but also complied with the government. Eventually, he could not discover the true value of liberty. This example demonstrated that the attempt to convince others might easily make people vulnerable to plunging into the other side's argument. Hence, persuading one person with an opposing viewpoint is not the best test of an argument.

Furthermore, although convincing someone with a contrasting viewpoint may be a strength of an argument, it does not mean that the strategy of persuasion is the best test of an argument. Instead of convincing opponents, attracting supporters and followers who already adhere to one's viewpoint could be a successful tactic of an argument. For example, when the Britain authority colonized India, Mahatma Gandhi, a prominent leader, carried out non-violent movements against British rule. The most representative case would be the Salt March in which he set out, on foot, on a journey with his hundreds of followers for 23 days. Although he was not able to immediately convince the British authority to cease their unfair practices, many people were impressed by watching his peaceful demonstration. He ultimately could gather the support of many Indians in fighting against injustice, and his ability to attract many followers is the better test of the argument. As seen in this example, it is somewhat credible to state that persuading other people with opposing views is not the primary factor in apprising an argument.

In conclusion, all things considered, the ability of an argument to convince its opponents is indicative of its strength. Still, it cannot be considered the best criterion for evaluating the argument. People should make extraordinary efforts to impress their supporters to increase the argument's effectiveness.