Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

It is debatable how much power government officials should possess. In some societies, government members should depend on their own judgment, while in other societies, they should consider the public's opinions. I disagree with the recommendation because, for the most part, a nation's decision should rely on its people's will rather than government officials' views.

Admittedly, in some circumstances, such as economic crises, government officials should rely on their judgment for the sake of a nation. It is because people voted for the officials, which means these officials are people of authority with discernment and experience. To illustrate, during the advent of the Great Depression, Franklin D Roosevelt implemented the New Deal program to help those mired with difficulties of poverty and starvation. This program opened many doors for the public to get new jobs and recover from the economic crisis. During this time, since the decision needed to be made in a matter of minutes, Roosevelt needed to depend on his own judgment in having the government intervene and solve the economic problems. Thus, in such cases, the recommendation is feasible, and the people in government should initiate decisions made from their judgment.

Despite the circumstance mentioned above, in some circumstances of wars, governments should carry out the will of their citizens. During wars, the lives of millions of people are at stake, so government officials should be extremely cautious in making decisions. Of course, the public's thoughts and opinions are importantly considered. Take the war on Iraq, for example. When terrorism emerged, many people criticized the idea of sending American soldiers to Iraq. This is because many lives would be endangered, and the United States would invest heavily in the war. Despite the opposition from many citizens, President George Bush relied on his false judgment and declared war. The government did not carry out the will of the citizens. As a result, the war's end has been regarded futile, and many lives were lost. Hence, in many circumstances, judgment should not be given into the hands of the officials.

In addition, in circumstances where communist ideas are prevalent, government officials should not rely on their own opinions and instead, make a decision based on the will of the public. For example, Kim Jong-Il and his government members depend solely on their judgment in North Korea. They have strictly required their people to adhere to "Juche," which posits that the nation will prosper once it becomes self-reliant by achieving economic, political, and military independence. When communism prevails, the citizens have no individual rights and continue to be mired in poverty while the government officials enjoy the luxuries. Since the government has no will to realize its people's aspirations, the public eventually suffers from poverty and iniquity. Thus, government officials should not decide their judgment.

In brief, the recommendation should be reconsidered, and the government members should not rely on their judgment. The officials should revere their citizen's opinions when deciding for society's well-being.