It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Identity helps us make decisions and know how to behave appropriately, and social identity allows us to be part of groups and gain a sense of belonging in our social world. Therefore, people usually strive to be involved in a social group they admire. The author states that we must identify with our social groups to define ourselves. However, the following essay will argue that the claim may not always be the case.

Admittedly, in some cases, the statement might hold true that identification with social groups plays a vital role in one's identification. Some people are born to adhere to their social norms and cultures strictly. Take India's caste system, for example. India's caste system divided its people into hierarchical groups based on their karma, birth, personality, and religion. Individuals are destined to be in a specific class even before birth. Those from lower casts could not climb to the upper classes and gain equal rights and privileges throughout their lives. Even though one wants to define themselves with their value and will, their inherent characteristics would never change, indicating that modifying their given class is impossible. Thus, one should admit that they must define themselves according to the social group they belong to from their birth. Accordingly, based on the above example, the author's argument that society defines people's identity seems plausible to some degree.

However, in most societies, individuals can identify themselves without social restriction. This is because one can decide not to be bounded by their social group. Galileo Galilei could be a compromising instance. Galilei adhered to Copernican theory that advocates a heliocentric model, the notion that the Sun is the center of the world. On the contrary, many people during that era followed geocentric theory, stating that the earth is the center of the universe. Despite fierce criticism from the public and Catholic churches, he did not comply with the mainstream's identification. Instead, he took the path less traveled, and through his differentiation, he could construct his unique identity apart from the leading society. Also, he could rectify the misconception in the field of astronomy. Hence, it is credible to state that identifying with social background is not necessary to define people.

In conclusion, all things considered, the idea that defining individuals through obeying social orders is partially plausible, as discussed above. Regardless of society's norms and values to the general population, the public can determine their nature through their efforts. Thus, we need to endeavor to achieve our idealized identity.