It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take In developing an

Identity helps us make decisions and know how to behave appropriately. Social identity allows us to be part of groups and gain a sense of belonging in our social world. Therefore, people usually strive to be involved in a social group they admire. The author states that we must identify with our social groups to define ourselves. However, the following essay will argue that the claim may not always be valid.

Admittedly, in some cases, the statement might hold true that identification with social groups plays a vital role in defining people. Some people are born to adhere to their social norms and cultures strictly. Take India's caste system, for example. India's caste system divides its people into hierarchical groups based on their karma, birth, personality, and religion. Individuals are destined to be in a specific class even before birth. Those from lower casts could not climb to the upper classes and gain equal rights and privileges throughout their lives. Even though Indians want to define themselves with their value and will, their inherent characteristics would never change, making it impossible for them to modify their given class. Thus, they have no other option but to admit that they must define themselves according to the social group they belong to from their birth. Accordingly, the author's argument that society defines people's identity seems plausible to some degree based on the above example.

However, in most societies, individuals can define themselves without social restriction. This is because some people can decide not to be bounded by their social group. Galileo Galilei could be a compelling instance. Galilei, a distinguished Italian astronomer who proved the Copernican theory, advocated the heliocentric model, the notion that the Sun is located at the center of the world. On the contrary, society followed geocentric theory, stating that the earth was the center of the universe. Despite fierce criticism from the public and Catholic churches, he did not comply with the mainstream's identification. Instead, he took the path less traveled, and through such differentiation, he could construct his unique identity apart from the leading society. Also, he could rectify the misconception in the field of astronomy. Hence, it is credible to state that individuals do not have to be defined by their social groups.

Furthermore, it must be noted that more critical methods, such as people's efforts, define people. Thus, social groups are not the primary factors. To illustrate this point, when slavery was pervasive in the United States, Fredrick Douglass was born to be a slave. Nevertheless, he denied his social group to define him, so he escaped from his master. Despite the harsh circumstances that did not allow him to be literate, he learned the alphabet and later published many influential articles. Since he was not constrained by the social group's identification and did choose to live a hopeless life, he could build his identity as an American social reformer and abolitionist. He was able to inculcate other enslaved people with freedom and hope. This example shows that efforts, not identification with social groups, are essential in defining people.

In conclusion, all things considered, the idea that defining individuals through obeying social orders is partially plausible, as discussed above. Regardless of society's norms and values to the general population, the public can determine their nature through their efforts. Thus, we must go the extra mile to discover ourselves apart from such social groups.