Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

The outcomes of scientific research and development are enigmatic and unpredictable. For the government to allow science to prosper and science to advance, it should let loose scientific research for all possibilities to happen.

Firstly, Government is not an omniscient entity. Officials at the top may be as nescient as ordinary multitude about the potential and outcomes of an ongoing research project in a specific field. For example, when Frank Whittle, a Royal Air Force (RAF) officer, proposed his idea of a turbo-engine, British air force deemed it unfeasible. The officer then raised his own funding and conducted his tests. After initial experimental success, the RAF finally gave in and the invention of turbo engine was made possible. This clearly illustrates that departments at the top, given their limited understanding, must not put restrictions on people who want to realize their research ideas.

History is replete with discoveries that only became possible after defying Government restrictions. For example, the scientific research of medieval Europe was strictly controlled by the Catholic Church. Any research supporting the Catholic principles were allowed while those serving the opposite purpose were restricted. The Catholic notion was that the sun orbits the earth, while study and observations by a polish scientist Copernicus proved the opposite. However, the pressure from the Church forbade him from publishing his ideas. After his death, his theory was supported by many scientists like Galileo – who persecuted on the church orders. Without restrictions, human knowledge of Astronomy would have developed much faster. Another example can be found in the practice of Alchemy in ancient China which was banned by the then rulers who believed that it would not produce any favorable results. Defying these restrictions, some alchemist continued the practice and experiments in their labs discreetly. Once during such an experiment, the lab exploded arousing people’s interest in the research area. While the experiment was a failure, the unforeseen result was just what the rulers would have dreamed: a more devastating weapon. This shows that restrictions only serve the purpose of impeding scientific research and the development of the nation.

However, there must be some regulations on research methodology. The forced organ harvesting for medical research from the persecution of Fulan Gong political prisoners in China is enough to emphasize this point. This regulation, however, must be associated with the consultation with scientific peers and professionals from civil society, rights group, etc. Moreover, some people argue that without restrictions technology can grossly be misused e.g. Gun powder, nuclear energy, etc. One must not forget that technology in itself is not inherently baneful. The use or abuse of scientific research depends upon the motives of the people undertaking it. The same gun powder is being used to construct tunnels and roadways thus positively affecting many lives. Similarly, the as perceived ‘destructive’ nuclear technology is being used to provide electricity to millions or can be used to propel space crafts in deeper space. Thus, the restriction must not be on scientific research but rather on the use of technology.

In conclusion, for science to prosper and hence for a nation to advance, Government must not put restrictions on the scientific research and development. However, some laws must be in place to avoid misuse of technology and unethical research methodology - that too must be associated with a peer-review process.