Governments should place few if any restrictions on scientific research and development

Development of the country is closely related with the scientific activities and researches carried by the scientists. Since the modern world prioritizes the competition between the parties, governments should be able to improve the scientific activities in order to be able to develop. However, restrictions on the scientific activities would lead scientists to feel vanquished because it destroys creativity. I will explore the reasons in the following essay.

There is an argument who positions itself on the opposing side. Some of the people suggests that government should control scientific activities because of safety problems. In other words, research and development processes may result in dramatic results that leads the countries to be frustrated. This argument is formed by considering power of the knowledge and unreversible results of the science. Nuclear bomb is pervasively given as an example for supporting this argument. If the government tried to control such an destroying invention, millions of people hadn’t died at Japan during world war 2.

However, although there may be harmful results of such a creative thinking, there is also beneficial consequences of science implemented to the modern world. In other words, unpredicted results of the scientific thinking shouldn’t be only concern for decision makers while they are critising the value of research activities. Instead, benefits of them should be prioritized for the process of the evaluating their effects to the modern life. For instance, if the quantum physicians didn’t put effort for such byzantine researches related to the quantum physics, there wouldn’t be modern inventions such as radio or television since they are created by using wave theory. As a result, if the government had tried to regulate the activities related to the atomic science by just considering the negative results of them, there wouldn’t be technological invetions pervasively used.

Last but not least, regulating science costs a lot to the governments in terms of human resources and lack of competition skills. Since regulation means constraining the scientist or forcing them to think in a way that the government wants, perseverance of the researchers are dramatically decreased under governmental regulations, which leads them to leave the country. As it mentioned above, without high skilled scientists, countries would be in a miserable position while they are competing with other countries. For example, brain drain that the countries which have otocratic leaders have faced so far makes them less wealthy.

In conclusion, the idea of regulating scientific activity is meaningless. Trying to control scientists kills the creativity that they need to be sustain for their activities. Governments should consider positive effects of the scientific activities and provide freedom for future thinkers.