The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers artists or scientists but by the general welfare of its people

Competitions between the countries and nations have dramatically increased since the first industrial revolution. Nations have been in the race of becoming powerful in production and economic wealth, so they have been in a desire of being great so far. The indicators of the power can have discrepant interpretations because of unstable conditions of the world. However, wealth of the citizens of the country is surely one of the most important aspects that represents the greateness of the nation. I will explore the reasons in the following essay.

There is an opposing argument suggested by the researchers who work on history. According to this argument, power of the nation which helps nation to be magnificent should be evaluated by considering individuals.To explain with other words, individuals that are able to change the way of history determines destiny of the country. Cultural hegomony or economic sustainability of the nation is not a critical part of evaluation of greateness of the country, since they depend on the current socio-economical structure of the world. As a result, relying on such unstable measures wouldn’t be meaningful according to this argument. Instead, if the nation is able to have game changers such as successful rulers, it would be capable of sustaining its power. In other words, cultural structures constructed by historical events and geographical consequences helps that nation to have effective individuals that will make it powerful.

In contrast to the argument above, one should evaluate magnificency of the nation by considering objective factors such as welfare of its people because of two reasons. Firstly, the welfare of the population is completely measurable, which helps us to be sure about the reliability of the results. Secondly, societies tend to sustain their economic powers by putting efforts to protect it. As a result, if any consistent pattern such as stabilized wealth thorought the history is observed, one can conclude greatness of the nation without any concern about generalisation effect, which is considering individuals to make interpretations about the whole. For example, countries who are able to reach sea easily, always sustain their wealth with the help of trade accomplished by using ships. Italia can be given as an example for this type of country. If one considers political leaders of the italian history, he or she most probably would face with Mussolini which is a terrible leader in terms of human rights. Therefore, considering political figures of Italia would lead the researcher in a wrong way. However, if the researcher is able to evaluate the conditions of the Italia by considering the wealth of the nation with the help geographical and historical approach, that researcher would conclude that Italia is a powerful country. Furthermore, these results can be cited pervasively because of scientific features of the study.

In conclusion, the idea of the considering successful figures to evaluate the power of the nation is flawed. Achievements of the individuals definitely leads the researcher in a wrong way because of subjective approach. Instead, if the researcher considers the economic power which can be measured by the wealth of nation, he or she would be able to measure the greateness of the country completely.