The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement

History as a field of science includes reading lots of paper and evaluating different perspectives existed in the researchers in order to collect data and construct an objective scientific argument related to historical events. Furthermore, reserachers interested in history are obligated to form a evaluation method that considers the condition of the past instead of criticising by comparing with current conditions. With this huge effort to collect objective data, some argue that studying on history would lead the researcher to distinguish herself from subjective perspectives such as ignoring discerepencies between past and present. With the help of objectivity that prioritizes the period of time when the historical event occurred, researchers tend to ignore consequences of these events which have been observed after a long time. However, when the researchers begin to investigate on papers which more updated, the discrepencies between past and present become obvious for a researcher.

To begin with, researcher trying to understand a historical events should look at both the past and the results of the events, which leads the researcher to observe different time periods that carry different perspectives. That researcher will most probably face with different perspectives, different cultures, and different methods required solve the problems related to both environmental and sustainability of the systems. As a result, the researcher will realize that there are structural contrasts between the periods of time since the societies evolve according to time in terms of socio-economical structure and social relations. For instance, if a scientists tries to understand the meaning of cultural revolutions, the grounds that prepare these revolutions and the results that the societies face after the dramatic change should also be investigated. As a result of this investigation, the researcher will be aware of differences between the conditions of the past and the present. That is not to say that these alterations occur in every aspects of the societies. In other words, there are still things such as emotional relationships, fundamental needs that don’t change according to time. However, significancy of the change mostly related with big-scaled diversities occured in big-scaled structures such as socio-economical foms.

At the same time, historical periods determine the way of historical recordings, which leads scientists to make wrong conclusions by just observing different resources from different times. A researcher may conclude that the recording historical activities have decelerated during Ottoman empire compared to the Romes. However, people who have lived in the Otttoman empire still wrote everything that they have faced but the politicians didn’t allow the individuals to publish these records and lead them to destroy these records in order to be able to sustain the authority. As a result, if the researcher concludes that the people of Ottoman empire are different from us in terms of historical recording, it would mean that there are misconception. On the other hand, if the researcher is able to investigate different resources which focus on the period of Ottoman empire, he or she most probably would observe that they are less interested in political events because of they are mostly farmers. Therefore, we are now have less records related to political events of Ottoman empire not because of they are less interested in historical writing.

Though, many feel that the history shows us that we are all humans that we have all same living conditions independent from the periods of time that we are living in. However, discrepencies between the past and the present actually are significantly important, which can be understood by using historical science.