The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The humankind has seen several revolutions with time, starting from stone age to the new technology flooded era. We are aware of the challenges faced by the early man, or about their way of living, is because history has provided us that information. With the absence of history, it would have been nearly impossible to draw the actual significant difference in current life of the people with the previous stages. One might argue that there are several other studies involving scientific research that help us to gain information about the past, however, those scientific studies are also based on historic facts and evidences. In my opinion, I there are several advantages of historic study, including the information about differences between the way of living in different stages of human evolution.

The historic journals, publications, blogs and books are filled with the information of various civilizations that were a part of history. These sources does not only help us to provide details about the past, but also help us to understand the hardships, living standards, food and various other factors that impacted people's lives during those civilizations. Furthermore, the advancement of today's technology, and its success, also depends upon the knowledge that we had from the past. What challenges were faced during initial stages of development? How did it impacted people? All such answers are provided within the study of history that shapes current life of the people.

Apart from removing the illusion about current lives versus earlier lives of people, there are various other benefits that the study of history provides. For instance, history has a major role in creating new laws and regulations that government puts forward. Indian government, while creating laws about border, or even trade, with neighbouring countries considers the historic relations with its neighbours. The Indo-China war of 1962 and 1967 are often a major influence while taking measures that impact Indo-China relations. Thus history, along with providing facts and figures about the past, also plays an effective role in deciding the future.

In conclusion, history has an immense impact in clearing the confusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times. However, that is not the main benefit that we get out of studying history. It also has numerous advantages and impact on the present life of the people.