Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Career choices are one of the most difficult decisions that a students has to take after passing out any educational institution. A student is often expected not to be wise enough to compare all the perspectives of choosing a career path. While many of those options are biased towards a field which has better pay, educational institutions should encourage their students to choose a path that is “exciting” enough for the them, and keeps them motivated to go to work daily. This can be made possible only when the students are studying those subjects which actually catches their interest.

A job which seems to be very lucrative while looking from income perspective, can turn out to be completely out of one’s understanding. If a person if forced to do the job, which is high paying, but does not attracts a person’s will, it is most likely to lead up to frustration and stress. Without keen interest, a person would not be able to climb the ladder up, to achieve success. To illustrate, a person who is known as “God of Cricket”, Sachin Tendulkar, would not have achieved the fame and money that he has now, if his school would have advised to pursue subjects of science or technology as appeared to be more giving that sports. Even though he would have made it to some job, we would have never reached the apex of success, which he enjoys now.

While the job can appear to be very attractive and can lead to the paths of success, it cannot be predicted that it will remain constant for decades. Jobs in mechanical sector, that were once prominent choice of people as it was high paying, has now very limited opportunities and was overthrown by IT revolution. Any educational institution which encourages its students for any specific career path, cannot guarantee that the opportunities will remain same for indefinite amount of time. On the other hand, if a student chooses a subject of his choice, will not only help him to understand the concepts and achieve the skills better than others, but also help him in the longer run as his mastery of the skill will definitely bag a high paying job.

One can argue that for an economy to flourish, the students graduating from colleges should be employed and for that they must posses the required skills which can fetch them a job in the growing industry. In a scenario where all the educational institutions target similar job market, it would create a problem where a huge number of applicants are applying for limited number of jobs, some of whom are not even “actually” willing to get one. Eventually, this would lead to increased unemployment, and adversely impact the economy. However, if this is distributed across different sectors, with application who are actually want to pursue their career in the field of their interest, would develop more successful individuals thus, boosting the economy.

While making career decisions it is at-most primacy that a student knows about the options that he or she can take, and also about the current “lucrative” opportunities out there, the institutions should encourage their students to pursue a career that calls for their interest. This will not only help the students to be successful, but also act as a catalyst in enhancing a country’s economy.