The following appeared in a magazine article about planning for retirement.

"Clearview should be a top choice for anyone seeking a place to retire, because it has spectacular natural beauty and a consistent climate. Another advantage is that housing costs in Clearview have fallen significantly during the past year, and taxes remain lower than those in neighboring towns. Moreover, Clearview's mayor promises many new programs to improve schools, streets, and public services. And best of all, retirees in Clearview can also expect excellent health care as they grow older, since the number of physicians in the area is far greater than the national average."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the magazine article claims that after retirement, people should choose Clearview because of several benefits, including low housing costs, less taxation, and healthcare facilities. However, while drawing the conclusion from the "benefits" the author made three unwarranted assumptions that, if true weakens the author's claim of choosing Clearview as people's retirement destination.

First of all, the main reason that the author provides for selecting Clearview is that healthcare is expected to be excellent as the number of physicians in the area is more than the national average. The author makes an assumption that it is only the number of doctors in a certain are that determines the quality of healthcare. However, along with quantity, the quality of the doctors is a greater factor that influences healthcare conditions. It is possible that even though there are a lot of physicians in Clearview, they are inexperienced and wanting enough skills. Furthermore, the author concentrates only on the number of physicians, rather than all of the healthcare department. People planning their retirement would be more attracted to a place where there is a good mixture of all kinds of doctors. If the author fails to provide evidence for the better "quality" of doctors, the assumption that Clearview is expected to have better health care holds no water.

Secondly, the author uses the recent decline in housing costs, and lower taxes as factors to attract people to Clearview. The author provides no further explanation about the reason for those lower costs. Since the housing cost declined significantly from last year, there could be adverse reasons for the same. People who are already living in Clearview might have started facing several issues with regular facilities like fresh drinking water or poor food quality and have started to leave Clearview. This would explain the sudden decline in housing costs. If the author can provide evidence to support that there were no adverse reasons for lowered housing costs, his claim of selecting Clearview will be bolstered.

Finally, the author wants to convince people to choose Clearview based on the mayor's promises to enhance education, streets, and other public services. There is no support that can state that the promises will be kept. There is a possibility that there is an upcoming election due to which the mayor is making false promises. Moreover, the author does not mention any timeline for these developments to occur. Even if these enhancements are going to happen, which in itself is uncertain, there is no guarantee that it would happen in recent times. It could take several years leaving people without basic services.

In conclusion, the author's claim for choosing Clearview as a retirement destination could be true, but there are several unstated assumptions that the author makes in order to reach that conclusion. If the author fails to provide evidence to support them, his claim remains flawed.