The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Latest scientific research and ancient rulers are considered by some people to be the parameters on which the greatness of a nation can be judged. It becomes a topic of pride for a country to be ranked in one of the top nations which produces high quality research results. For instance, India was highly praised for it success of Chandrayan-2, a moon rover , which landed on that point within the southern-hemisphere, where no other country’s space craft have ever landed. In the field of art, America has made a tremendous mark, having s huge number of successful pop artists. However, these parameters can be a representative of a country how it looks externally, but internally it is the quality of life that the citizen are living, which is demonstrating how good or bad a nation actually is.

Firstly, the greatness cannot be measured without taking count, the living standards of the people, which includes basic necessity of food and lodging and healthcare. Several countries have reached the apex of research, but still suffer in providing basic amenities to its people. To exemplify, as India taken into consideration earlier in the essay, in the example of high-output research, there are still people living on the streets in the city lights and having to face the daily struggles to get a one-time meal for their family. The quality of healthcare facilities that every citizen of the country is offered with, is also a major contributor to a countries. In the midst of the COVID-19 pandemic, New-Zealand was highly praised, as it turned out to be the first country which was completely free of the novel virus while the other countries where still struggling to contain the virus. This was possible because New-Zealand has a high standard healthcare system and a much better management process.

Moreover, another factor that is a vital part of people welfare is the life expectancy index, which in other words, determine the average years that a person is expected to live in a country. While the history of the rulers, and historic events can define the glory of a country’s heritage and culture, it plays a minimal role in defining the current situation that the country faces. To illustrate this further, considering China which is well known for its high technical throughput and dominating the production of gadgets, have the least life expectancy index of 50 years, which means that a person in China lives for an average age of 50 years. Any research success, or artistical dominance cannot justify the low life-expectancy

Any country which appears to be highly successful in fields of research, or having huge cultural heritage can appear to be great for a far away perspective, but the actual measure of greatness can only be done If the ground reality is checked. The basic necessity of citizens should be the most important criteria of judgment. One should always, first look into the quality of life, including healthcare, that a country offers to its citizens, and then later the success of scientist and the artist before concluding how grate is a nation.