The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers artists or scientists but by the general welfare of its people

Lets imagine two kids living in United States, one lives in a fancy bunglow with fancy clothes, cars and accessories, has full support of his parents, and is average in studies, the other kid is the son of two gig workers, who hardly make up for two meals and live at a shoddy place, The son again is average in studies and can be considered on an equal level to the former boy. Both of them go to school, both go to public schools, but because of the fees the latter kid has to work part-time and struggles while the former has it easy for him and focuses on his personal development and academic development. When they apply for college, its not hard to imagine which one has it easier for applying to college as the latter would find it hard to even get loans or gather money for his studies and achieve his dreams. Both the kids have similar academic interests with similar caliber then why does one get to pursue his dream and other doesn't, just because the former was born in a upper class family and the latter wasn't?

This is what the governments around the world need to consider, freeing education for all of populous. The initiative, as scary as it sounds has huge long-term benefits. Taking the example from before, if the education in the school was free, the latter kid wouldn’t have to work part-time and could have, like the former kid, focused on his personal and academic development and work towards his dreams. When applying for college he wouldn't have to scrap for money and therefore would have had an equal opportunity as the former rich kid.

Now there are a lot of counter points that comes in with this education model, where will the government find funds to sponsor every student's education? Is the investment going to come with returns? Will this make the students complacent?

These counter arguments are very valid and make sense, Lets talk about the first point, yes the government initially has to invest a lot of money to abolish fees and is a huge undertaking in itself, however there are huge benefits tied to it. From the example above, with free education both the kids will be educated and will pursue their dream careers, ergo contributing massively towards the economy, in comparison to current state where the only the rich kid would contribute. Freeing up education means a lot of financially weak students will be able to pursue their dreams, develop their dream careers and contribute towards the nation's growth in form of paying income tax, service tax, duties and what not. Free Education means enabling a whole lot more students which will lead to innovation, startups, new ideas, leading to upliftment of whole sections of society. The return of investment is so high that the government can get all its money back and more along with a strong nation.

Therefore I believe in the idea of free education and I support it.