Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts Write a response in which you

The art has been with the humankind since the beginning of the history. The existence of the art is closely dependent on the fundings because of the economics that we have built up. Some argue that the governmental expenditures would clearly provide continuous amount of money that allows the art to be sustainable. Since the government are one of the most reliable sources of money, the resources required for making art to be resistant to the changes, and pervasive for all people will be guarenteed with the help of funding from the leaders who are dealing with the management of societies. However, the freedom of the artists would be put in a danger, which will destroy the creativity and the productivity vital for art. Therefore, in the long term there won't be such a thing called art that need to be sustained if the main source of money is government.

To begin with, in a byzantine economic structure, all parties prioritize their own benefits to be able to survive in the crucial competition. The governments are no exception for this. Interests of all of the governments can be specified as protecting the profits and not losing the leading position. Therefore, any investments done by the governments accomplished by considering these fundemental interests. For instance, the governments spend huge amount of money to improve the road network in order to be able to gain more tax from the roads, and fetch more residents to get more vote. When it comes to the art, the governments consider it as a tool for advertisement, which enables them to get more votes by providing them a chance to present their ideologies. From mundane to the profound, all of the governments try to use the art as a way of propaganda. For instance, the SSCB leaders invested a lot money on filming industry to compete with the Hollywood located at the US by putting strict rules to the film-makers. The directors and the investors had to represent the sociologist ideology in their films to be able to get money and survive in the country. However, at some point many film-makers went out from the country because of lack of freedom. They wanted to make films related to their own thoughts instead of ideologies imposed by the government. That is not to say that the art needs only freedom to exist. Instead, the financial factors determined by the socio-economic structure are crucial for all of the individuals. However, reaching monetary resources from government shouldn't be a choice for artists since the intentions of the leaders will destroy the idea of art which is highly personal.

At the same time, it can be argued that the market conditions can't be constructed without any help from the government as it stands for continuous source of prestige. For example, the film industry existed in Turkey continue to produce new films with the help of huge amount of investments of the ministries. The brand power of the government is so high that any other investors that put money on film production can not make profits since the movies funded by the ministry of the culture highly dominate the market by fetching a lot of viewers. On the other hand, the prestige of the governments can be defeated in the long term. The investors who make wise choices by helping the artist to be productive instead of forcing them to represent their ideas can be able to make these changes on the market. For instance, government expenditures are so low in the US market with the help of angel investors.

Though, it seems that money provided by government is an important factor during the production of art because of the harsh economical environment, free thoughts and ideas are more valuable in the area of art. The governments have damaged the idea of art and will continue to impose their ideologies by using art a thing that can't be given to the hands of the ideologies defended by the governments.