In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

The statement that progress, in any situation, requires discussion among people with contrasting opinions has considerable merit given that consensus is the best solution in many number of situations, Different viewpoints come from different people with myriad backgrounds, experiences, expertise and knowledge. When all of that is put together, the resulting solution is more creative and inclusive, contributing to the progress of all. However, this is not possible if the people involved have the rigidity in their viewpoints and an unwillingness to listen to or give in to an opinion more meritorious than their own.

Consider a situation where the authority of a school decides to implement an online forum for teacher-parent discussion doing away with conventional face-to-face interaction. The school may coin this as progress as it allows for easy monitoring of students and equally easier accessibility of information to parents. The adoption of this technological advancement, however, without guardians’ opinions, may prove to be inefficient than the traditional interaction between teachers and parents. People visualize the same situation in different perspectives based on their past experiences, present scenarios, emotional judgement and future assessment of the problem. For a progress to encompass the needs of all, it is equally important to respect the contrasting opinions than those in favour.

For the growth, improvement and development of a situation, it is wiser to consider it from different standpoints. The problems may be multi-faceted, calling for different approach for mitigation and thus requiring opinions of everybody associated with the subject. Consider the case of two contrary theories of atomic physics: the wave theory and the quantum theory. For 20 years or so, physicists have been struggling to disprove one or other, or reconcile them. By this way of intense debate, scientists have now developed a new so-called ‘string’ theory that reconciles them both – at least mathematically. While strings have not yet been observed empirically, the theory may provide the unifying law that every matter in the universe obeys.

Considering different viewpoints helps in judging priorities too: whether multi-billion dollars be invested in space research in the face of economic depression and fluctuating market conditions, whether tax revenues be spent on a new fly-over to reduce congestion or for uplifting the strata of poor people by spending in education and healthcare. Progress can only happen when the needs of the people at large are considered rather than a specific section. Moreover, bills passed after respecting opposition’s viewpoints garner greater acceptance by the public. For progress to be successful, people, thus, should be involved, debates held, discussions organized, opinions heard, problems mitigated and steps implemented.

However, public debates and discussions can also cause general hysteria and inefficiency in certain circumstances. As claimed by a socialist Walter Lippmann, in his book ‘Public Opinion, if people hold different opinions and are unable to persuade each other, this may cause conflicts which may further exacerbate into abhorrence for each other. Similarly, a rigid difference of opinions between public and Government, with either one unwilling to listen to each other, may result in discontent and even protests, thus hampering progress.

In conclusion, it is indeed through discourses, discussions and debates that progress is possible provided that the people involved are willing to consider and even concede to opinions more cogent than their own.