Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Education, as defined by John Dewey, is the process of facilitating learning, and acquiring knowledge, skills, values, beliefs and habits. Universities facilitate this very process of advanced learning and gaining knowledge. The policy that governments should sponsor free education for students unable to afford tuition fees has manifold advantages. However, it should be applied with some considerations and in an appropriate form.

University education is crucial in shaping citizens’ mental, psychological, social and physical growth. A nation’s progress is dependent upon its citizens’ whereas the latter’s progress relies on good University education. However, not every individual has the financial capacity to afford the rising cost of higher education. In some countries, a rampant commercialization of educational sector resulted in large pool of students either dropping out of the universities or not registering for higher education at all. In cases where students do enroll taking high-interest bank loans, certain drastic repercussions such as emergence of ‘sugar daddy’ culture, students fleeing the country to evade loan repayment, etc. have come to the fore.

Citizens have the right to get educated and the governments have the duty to educate them. Like other areas such as health care, employment, public transport, governments are obligated to provide access to higher education to every citizens irrespective of their social or pecuniary status. Implementing a free education policy for needy students will go a long way in the conveying them the message that financial constraints are not a hindrance in pursuit of knowledge. This, as a result, will ensure more and more citizens - especially the meritorious one - opting for higher education leading to a constant stream of doctors, engineers, lawyers, theorists, thinkers, etc. coming out of the universities and contributing towards the advancement of technology, health care, scientific research, literary works, etc. Then, ultimately, this will foster a nation country’s economic, cultural, intellectual and social growth.

However, every government has limited resources a part of which is allocated to education sector used for the overall development of the sector. A general policy to waive off tuition fees would entail increasing the percent allocation of the budget which may result in deduction in the budget for other vital areas e.g. healthcare, defense, social welfare, etc. Even if the cost for abating the tuition fees is channelized through the existing allocation, other educational areas such as development of labs, staff salaries, primary and secondary education and so on will be negatively impacted. Moreover, free education may negatively impact the attitude of some students who may then not appreciate its value which would not be the case when there is a fear for monetary loss upon failure. The overall result would be the decadence of educational quality.

Therefore, any such policy must be considerate of students’ affordability which varies from one individual to other as well as the merit of the beneficiaries. A pragmatic approach would be to mandate students to contribute as assistants in research/teaching or reimburse the waived-off tuition fees once they are flourished and settled. Also, continuation of such subsidies must be subjected to good academic performance in every semester. In conclusion, government must ensure tuition free education for needy and deserving candidates but the amount of waiver should be proportionate to students’ affordability and that too should be compensated through their contribution in one or the other as described before.