Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Culture can be defined as arts, customs, ideals and social behavior of a group of people or society. The author claims that governments should ensure enough financial support to their mega cities for them to survive for the reason that it is primarily in big cities that a country's major cultural traditions are preserved and generated. While it is true that some major cities round the globe boast rich cultural heritage and some act as stage for cultural exhibition thereby needing financial support to thrive. The author’s reasoning is an overt generalization of the role of cities in cultural preservation and generation.

Verily, many famous cities rose to prominence primarily due to their aesthetic, architectural or historical legacy. For example, while every nook and corner of the city of Rome speaks about the bygone Roman architecture, the tower of London and London Bridge reveal much about the British history. Moreover, metropolitans also serve as a platform to project a nation’s aesthetic and literary accomplishments to the visitors through theatres, museums, etc. because their operation and maintenance require capital as well as big market which may be lacking in rural or smaller cities. For instance, musicians from all the part of the country gather a big opera to give a taste of folk music; libraries provide avenues to showcase scholarly work, painters showcase their talent in art galleries and so on. While these points of attraction generate revenues through tourism, government funding is warranted for preservation of these buildings and architecture for they contribute heavily to the local economy.

However, beyond this concession the author’s reasoning and hence claim are disputable. Firstly, these aesthetic cultural aspects are not confined to city limits. There exist many towns and regions of cultural and historical repute which either due to connectivity, preservation or geographical size couldn’t evolve into cities such as highlands in Scotland, Cotswolds in England, etc. The government must therefore assure these heritage sites are provided necessary funding for their maintenance. Secondly, culture is not limited to the artistic heritage of a country. The other aspects such as occupation, social behavior, ideals, and customs are more visible in the villages and smaller towns. This is especially true when the demographics distribution of a country is concentrated in the rural areas. For example, India is agrarian country with a big chunk of population having traditional occupation of farm related activities. Similarly, there are myriad other professions such as lock making, handicrafts, handloom weaving, hand-made leather footwear which flourish in some smaller traditional towns. Without government aid these professions may die out and the artisans may then flock to cities in search of other livelihood opportunities.

Moreover, contrary to the author’s reasoning, modernization has a greater influence on a city’s native culture compared to villages. Classical theatre shows get replaced by multiplexes, fast-food restaurant take over traditional cuisine, etc. People busy to earn their livelihood, either due to professional requirement or lack of time, pay little attention to their cultural traditions. While they may exhibit some essence of their customs and ideals, such practices are more common and pristine in the villages or towns they come from. In Mumbai, for instance, professionals belonging to villages usually don corporate or casual wears even though their traditional attire happens to ‘dhoti’ or ‘saree’ (the former is draped around the waist and the latter around body).

Therefore, in metropolis, more than cultural protection, the limited government resources must be directed towards other important areas like health, education, employment, etc. This may relieve the diverse group of people there from financial and social apprehensions which in turn can help them focus on their cultural traditions. Moreover, other intangible aspects of a culture like values, beliefs, customs, social behavior etc. are naturally inherited from one generation to the other and can only be protected through spending on education and propagation.

In conclusion, some cities boast about the artistic cultural heritage and hence require financial aid from the government for preservation of their legacy. However, the customary, social, occupational and other aspects of culture are more visible in their historical source i.e. small towns and villages. Modernization of cities also results in dilution of national culture let alone preservation and generation. Therefore, government must ensure that both cities and villages get financial support they require to flourish and hence preserve their cultural traditions.