Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In my opinion, universities should encourage every student to take a variety of courses outside the student’s field of study rather than require according to the following reasons.

Making friends with professional fields other than one’s department is a good way to exchange different skills. When taking various courses outside their own field, students can meet classmates majoring in different academics. Take Marine History, one of the selective general course in my college, for example, all of the students were divided into several groups, consisting of members coming from lots of departments. In the final project, aimed to design an educational program for high school students, we had to combine computer science with history knowledge. During the working process, I was amazed by the team members whose profession was history for she was able to explain the detail of each significant event interestingly and had her own unique interpretation about the relationship of the wars. On the contrary, I and other people taught them some simple coding principles, and cooperated with each other to demonstrate the whole project. Through this course, I learned how to do the team work with other fields of people, and understood the sole profession weren’t enough to accomplish the assignment.

Some may argue that professors may not pay attention to the arrangement of general course, hence it’s not really helpful. However, once the lecture’s loading is equivalent to the required courses, then for most people, it’s too difficult to begin with exploring a certain field. Take Economics, which is the most popular general courses for students, for example. If a student is interested in Economics and consider whether choose it as the second professions, but the professor directly jumps to Microeconomics or Macroeconomics without teaching any elementary knowledge. It’s obvious that the lesson is too hard for the students to comprehend within one semester, then it’s likely that she feels frustrated and decide to give up. Pitifully, she lost a great opportunity to start with Economics only the wrong arrangement.

Some may contend that it has already a huge burden for them to take their own required course, so it’s impossible to take other classes out of their fields. Indeed, students majoring in computer science are often busy and have abnormal sleeping time owing to the onerous assignment. In this situation, universities should alter the requirement a little bit, such as change from requirement to encouragement. Under this system, students who would like to take other courses may not be deprives, and students who have already been tired of their major won’t have extra burden.

To sum up, universities should encourage students to take other courses out of their field instead of requiring for some students cannot bear this additional loading.