Collectors prize the ancient life-size clay statues of human figures made on Kali Island but have long wondered how Kalinese artists were able to depict bodies with such realistic precision. Since archaeologists have recently discovered molds of human heads and hands on Kali, we can now conclude that the ancient Kalinese artists used molds of actual bodies, not sculpting tools and techniques, to create these statues. This discovery explains why Kalinese miniature statues were abstract and entirely different in style: molds could be used only for life-size sculptures. It also explains why few ancient Kalinese sculpting tools have been found. In light of this discovery, collectors predict that the life-size sculptures will decrease in value while the miniatures increase in value.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In this article, the author predicts that the life-size sculptures made on Kali Island will decrease in value while the miniatures increase in value according to a discovery.

He points out that archaeologists have recently discovered molds of human heads and hands, so he concludes that the artists used molds to create artifacts. However, is it possible that they only depict a shape instead of creating the whole sculpture by the shape of the molds? It’s likely that the core of accomplishing a sculpture is head and hand. Even though they indeed used the molds of head and hand, it’s not necessary that other parts of bodies were also depicted by the molds.

He also considers that the discovery can explain why Kailnese miniature statues were abstract and entirely different. Nevertheless, how can he confirm that the artists of miniature statues and life-size sculptures are all the same? It’s common that there were various creative styles at that time. Maybe the miniature statues were primarily created by citizens, who didn’t receive too much art training. On the contrary, the rather difficult one, life-size sculptures were mostly designed by professional artists, who were capable of accomplishing more complicated and larger works.

The author says that Kalinese miniature statues were abstract and entirely different in style, indicating that molds could be only used for life-size sculptures. Nevertheless, it’s reasonable to speculate that there were some natural disasters occurring in this area long time ago hampering the archaeologists’ excavating process. It’s likely that the volcano erupted in few centuries ago, and most of the molds were covered by the ash. Hence, the dearth of the discoveries of tools isn’t equivalent to the usage of them.

Lastly, the author predicts that the life-size sculptures will decrease in value while that of miniatures will increase. There are many variables to influence the value of the art works. Even though the sculptures were designed by the molds, the actual value for the professionals are rather high for the quantity of them are low.

To sum up, the process of inference and the evidence both need to be more careful before the author predicts that the value change of life-size sculptures and miniatures.