Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The globalization becomes a trend, many colleges and universities now provide various choices for students interested in studying other countries for one semester. However, the policy says colleges and universities should require all students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country. In my opinion, it’s not necessarily to make this regulation for the following reasons.

Most of the graduated students in Taiwan often complain their professional skills aren’t capable of dealing with problems when going to work. When forced to be an exchange student, students usually take 12 credits as the maximum, much lower than in Taiwan by 8 to 13. In addition, after staying at foreign countries for a semester, those students often have to prolong their schedule of graduating owing to dearth of minimum credits for graduation. It’s obvious that one can absorb knowledge more efficiently as lesson is lectured in his tongue language. Once colleges require all students to study in a foreign country, it’s likely that they may get lower credits and grade owing to language barrier, even unable to get enough skills.

Tuition is much higher if the student isn’t the citizen, so the cost including daily life may be a burden to most of the families in Taiwan. Take staying at Japan for example, tuition for a semester is approximately five thousand dollars let alone other expenses such as accommodation, airplane tickets, and so on. On the contrary, studying at national universities in Taiwan, students only need to pay one thousand dollars for a semester, included cost of dormitory. In other words, the tuition for staying at a foreign country can support a student study in Taiwan for 5 semesters astonishingly.

Some may argue that staying at other countries is an opportunity to strengthen language ability and get close to know other cultures. Regarding language, there are many solutions to this problem. Technology makes us communicate with foreign teachers through SKYPE, or provides us with many educational platforms especially for improving speaking, such as Tutor ABC. What’s more, there are many exchanged students from various schools studying at Taiwan’s colleges. Taking a same course and joining at the same club are both the great opportunities to make friends and communicate with them. After being friends, it’s possible to know their cultures and understand the difference between two countries.

To sum up, the colleges and universities don’t have to require students to study at least one semester staying at a foreign country.