The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a laboratory study of liquid antibacterial hand soaps, a concentrated solution of UltraClean produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During a subsequent test of UltraClean at our hospital in Workby, that hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations throughout our hospital system."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memo, the director suggests that those hospitals should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations throughout the hospital system. However, he makes some assumptions that seem too ideal to attain in reality.

The director says that a concentrated solution of UltraClean produced 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than did the liquid hand soups. It’s not reliable to use the percentage as an indication of the efficiency. For example, if there are 14,000 bacteria in the hospital before adopting the soap manufactured by UltraClean, then it only kills 140 of them finally, meaning that the killing rate is 1 percent. On the contrary, there are 1,000 bacteria in the hospital then after using the other brands of soap, then it kills 100 of them. Under this simple instance, it also represents the 40 percent greater reduction, but other brands of soap is more efficient. Hence, he should provide the original numbers and the numbers after the using of the soap to ensure that UltraClean is more functional than any other brands.

He also mentions that during a subsequent test of UltraClean at the hospital in Workby, that hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection than did any of the other hospitals in the group. He assumes that the only variable in this result is different choice of soap. Nevertheless, one of the factors the total patients entering into the hospital is omitted, which also plays an important role in interpreting the data. It’s likely that if there are fewer people going to the hospital every day, and there are rather few chances for people get infection. What’s more, he also assumes that the protective measures in the hospital are the same. Obviously, if the hospital has implemented the standard steps then it has already reduced a lot the probability the infection.

Another assumption is that all the hospitals located in various areas have the same weather and size. It’s possible that the bacteria have to develop different characteristics to adapt to the environment. It’s likely that the bacteria just started living in Workby so they’re still figuring out the way to steadily reside in this city. Even though the performance of the decrease of UltraClean is great, it doesn’t represent that the result is contributed to the soap.

To sum up, it still leaves many careful considerations before deciding whether supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations throughout the hospital system.