The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals."In a laboratory study of liquid antibacterial hand soaps, a concentrated solution of UltraClean produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than did t

The reading passage states that on the basis of new test, it is concluded that a concentrated Ultraclean solution would increase salinity to 40 percent and recommends it for the usage in hand-washing stations throughout hospital. Nonetheless, the reasons and ideas presented in the argument are not convincing and rest on unsubstantiated foundation and in what follows the most discernible controversies are drawn.

First, the passage asserts that, based on reports, during a subsequent test of UltraClean at a hospital, large number of patient infection have been removed. However, the argument does not mention that how the test was conducted. Indeed, the reliability of the test condition would completely affect the conclusion and result. In this regard, the environment of the hospital should be discussed, during or before test program. Maybe, the test was accomplished in cold environment and as everyone are fully aware of, the activity of bacteria in this condition decreases. Hence, the results of the test are unreliable since test condition was not discussed.

Second, the article claims that concentrated solution of UltraClean produces 40 percent more protection for patient in hospital. Nevertheless, the argument should shed the light on others potential changes too. Actually, maybe some other factors was proscribed to prevent more infection. Commonly, the dean of the hospital usually wants to have the most hygiene environment. Monthly, they recruit a group of doctor for long-term solution, specifically infection matter. Maybe, non-infectious cream and medicine, yield this results. Therefore, the function of other important factors should be considered and they may affect the increment of percentage change.

Third, the argument says that, the results of test in specific hospital in comparison to the others hospital demonstrate that fewer amount infection exist in the hospital which uses UltraClean material as constituent of their soaps. However, some other factors may enhance hospital virus-protection. Indeed, maybe nurses and worker of that specific hospital were obliged to change their nasty clothes daily, or put on gloves and etc. This would also help to have more infection-protection and there is not any correlation with this to UltraClean material.

In conclusion, as the above-mentioned examples have illustrated, the uncertainty about the test environment, validation of results, and consideration of other factors are major defects of this article and should be at least acknowledged by the author. This shows that the article is laid on shallow foundation and therefore the whole argument is rejected, unless, the author make the ambiguousness and uncertainty of the article unblemished.