The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

In the recommendation, the personnel director suggests that all the employees should take the Easy Read course for there are so many benefits.

He takes a graduate of the course for example, the member of the course is able to read a 500-page report in only two hours. However, what’s the content of the report? It’s likely that most of the pages are tables and pictures, and it’s also likely that the report is written by high school students, obviously easier for readers to understand. Even though the report is hard to read, how can we check that the graduate really completely comprehend the article rather than finish reading? If he skips the content he cannot figure out and only choose part of the information he had known, then reading a 500-page report isn’t difficult for everyone.

He also mentions another graduate taking the speed reading course is promoted from an assistant manager to vice president. What’s the background of the graduate? If he just married the daughter of the CEO, then it’s easy for him to get this high position without mastering in any special skills. Nevertheless, how’s the size of her company? There are more and more small companies thriving in every industry, and it’s possible that the company consists of 5 people. Under this case, the boss may want to boost the morale by announcing the promotion periodically, then the result isn’t highly correlated to the course.

Even though the course is proved to be effective, is it reasonable to require all the employees to take this course? Take securities for instance, the daily tasks for them it’s not related to reading ability but safety so this requirement isn’t logical. How about other employees? Do they need to read long articles like hundred pages? Or just the email which is much shorter than paper. In addition, it’s possible that mastering in the learning process is complicated and also time-consuming. Everyone pays attention to the class, but it’s not necessary that they can make a good use of the skill on their daily work.

To sum up, before requiring all the employees to take the speed reading course in order to maximize the profit, it still leaves many consideration.