An ancient, traditional remedy for insomnia—the scent of lavender flowers—has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where their sleep was monitored electronically. During the first week, volunteers continued to take their usual sleeping medication. They slept soundly but wakened feeling tired. At the beginning of the second week, the volunteers discontinued their sleeping medication. During that week, they slept less soundly than the previous week and felt even more tired. During the third week, the volunteers slept longer and more soundly than in the previous two weeks. Therefore, the study proves that lavender cures insomnia within a short period of time.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the recent study, the scent of lavender flowers has been proved to be a good remedy for insomnia. According to the three-week experiment, the author posits that the traditional way is efficient among 30 samples.

It provides a controlled room for 30 volunteers, but there are also many variables except for the space they stay. Everyone doesn’t have the same time for adapting a new environment, which also affects the result. Hence, it’s better for the researchers rule out the first week of data to avoid the inaccuracy resulting from adaption. We also need further details to determine that the scent is indeed the point for curing insomnia. Do they take a nap after eating lunch for too long leads to short sleep during the night? Once a person sleeps too much in the afternoon, it’s obviously that the sleeping hours and quality may be rather low for she still has energy to burst.

The report points out that the volunteers slept soundly but wakened feeling tired, but the feeling isn’t a good indication of research. It needs the quantitative way to evaluate whether the sleeping quality is good, instead of relying on feeling. In addition, the tiredness is continuous so even though the volunteers discontinued the remedy, it’s likely that it exists no difference actually.

Despite the three-week curing process is effective, the researchers cannot guarantee that the remedy is a long-period way. Consequently, it has to prolong the schedule of experiment to ensure that the scent is capable of eradicating the insomnia. It’s possible that after the three weeks, the insomnia is no longer to be dealt with by the scent partly because the scent has a certain limitation working in the body. On the other hand, 30 samples is too small to summarize that insomnia can be solved by the traditional remedy. What’s more, the author didn’t mention what the gender and age of the subjects is. If they’re all belong to the certain age range, then it only can conclude that the scent is effective for them.

To sum up, before considering the scent of lavender is a solution to insomnia, it still needs more evidence to support the idea.