The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals."In a laboratory study of liquid antibacterial hand soaps, a concentrated solution of UltraClean produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than did t

The author of this argument states that because of significantly reduced cases of patient infection in hospitals using UltraClean, then UltraClean should be used at all hand-washing stations at all hospitals. The premise of this argument is not completely cogent from a logical standpoint because it fails to address 3 questions that are critical to the understanding and validity of the statement presented.

First, the author states that the hospital in Workby has significantly fewer cases of patient infection than other hospitals because they use UltraClean. However, we cannot assume that is the sole reason. There are many other factors that can play into this conclusion. For one, the hospital in Workby could be a newer, smaller facility with an overflow of cleaning staff. This would be mean the hospital would be especially cleaner than other hospitals around which could be older and understaffed. If this assumption proves unwarranted, using UltraClean at other hospitals will not yield the same results.

Furthermore, the argument states that there was a 40% greater reduction in bacteria population than liquid hand soaps currently used at other hospitals. The author does not provide any statistical data to back this claim. For example, lets say that liquid hand soaps currently used at hospitals are able to eliminate 99.99% of bacteria. Therefore UltraClean will be able to eliminate 40% more than 99.99, which is a miniscule amount. Without any other data, the effectiveness of UltraClean and any other hand soap will be exactly the same.

Finally, the speaker fails to provide any justification that the hospital in Workby is similar to other hospitals, in terms of their respective patients. For one, the patients near Workby may be known for their outstanding work in rehabilitation from an injury while other hospitals may be known for their skills in fighting infection and diseases. This important difference could explain the success of UltraClean in preventing patient infections, but might not necessarily work in other hospitals.

By answering these vital questions, the argument could garner a stronger basis for reasoning. Without this information, the argument fails to make a convincing case that UltraClean will provide any real benefits when used at other hospitals.