Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than

The author makes a number of unwarranted assumptions that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid. If these assumptions do not hold true, the argument will not be true.

Firstly, the argument assumes that each study was done under the same parameters. The argument does not provide any information on the exact location or time. One study could have been done at home where children would talk to their biological parents about their day and interactions with other adults while another study could have been done outside with friends where the child would talk about their biological parents. The study also does not provide any statistics on number of children in the study. Because of this, the researcher cannot come to an accurate conclusion without a significant sample size.

Futhermore, the argument fails to provide any justification that interview-centered methods were the most accurate. The argument does not provide any guideline on how this method is carried out. Had another researcher conducted a interview-centered approach and come to the conclusion that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village than by their biological parents, the argument would be invalid.

Lastly, the author claims without warrant that what held true 20 years ago would hold true today. So even if we assume that children 20 years ago behave the similar to those of today, the argument is still lacking because it does not provide information to show there had been no cultural changes.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid.