Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.Reason: We are not able to make connections between current events and past events until we have some distance from both.Write a response in which y

What goes on in your brain when you make a decision? For some people, they calculate the risk and reward; others refer to the past and base their decision off that, and other don’t think at all. Knowledge of the past will not always be beneficial in making important decisions today.

When it comes down to everyday tasks, most people don’t think about it, they just do it. Its innate. However, people are ignorant when the consequences of these actions don’t affect them. For example, drunk driving has killed millions of people around the world; yet people still drink and drive. They know that drunk driving is dangerous and can lead to serious injuries and even death, yet they don’t flinch when it comes to driving yourself home after a long night of drinking. Only after having experienced it ourselves or with someone close to us, will we realize that we shouldn’t drink and drive.

Furthermore, we cannot base our decisions on the past because the world is ever changing. What may have worked 5 years ago will not work today. For example, investing in the stock market. Lets say its 2007 and you want to invest in the stock market. Ever since 2002, the market is starting to flourish again. So 2002 to 2007, NASDAQ and S&P 500 both double in value and lots of money is being made. Based on the past, you’re thinking since the market has been up for the past 5 years, it should still be up in the next 5 yours. So you invest your entire savings, hoping to retire in the near future, but the housing market crashes and stocks drop 50% in a matter of 3 days. You lose your home and all of your life savings. Decisions cannot be made based on past knowledge.

However, basing our decisions on the past is not always a bad thing. In some studies, we must use theories, proven from the past, in order to discover new ones. As a scientist, we must formulate our hypothesis in our experiments based on what we know will and won’t work. It would be a waste of time, money, and resources to recreate experiments that we already know will work, such as do protons and electrons attract, what is the boiling point of water, etc.

In conclusion, knowledge of the past wont necessarily help us in the decisions we make today if are ignorant or uneducated. We must take the past with a grain of salt and use our own judgment.