A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising

The argument provides a series of unwarranted assumptions that people who sleep less than 6 hours are more successful. If these assumptions do not hold true, the argument will be invalid.

Firstly, the argument assumes that the study is reliable. The argument does not provide any statistical data about the study or how it was conducted. Was the sample randomly selected or based on volunteer? Without knowing the data points, one can assume that the data set could contain a CEO and 1 other executive that sleeps for 5 hours, in which the CEO makes the company millions while the other executive only makes 100 and the other 298 executives all sleep for more than 6 hours and only make the company thousands. This would heavily skew the averages in favor of hiring someone who sleeps less than 6 hours. Therefore if this assumption holds true, businesses would not necessarily be benefitting from hiring an executive who sleeps less than 6 hours.

Furthermore, the argument assumes without justification that what holds true for Mentain will work for another business. If Mentain is a company that focuses on stock trading and sitting in front of the computer all day while another company primarily focuses on pitching their new products to other companies, a sleep deprived executive would not necessarily be able to sell the product as effectively, thus hurting the company’s profits. Without additional information about Mentain and their line of work, we cannot say what works for Mentain will work for another company.

Lastly, the argument assumes that people who need less than 6 hours of sleep will be more successful. The key word here is “need”. A person who “needs” less than 6 hours of sleep doesn’t necessarily mean that they won’t sleep more that.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted claims, it fails to make a convincing case that people who sleep less than 6 hours are more successful.