Argument Essay:-"For many years the city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony. Last year, however, private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series d

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on the unwarranted assumptions that the symphony can be self supporting, rendering its main conclusion, that city funding for Grandview symphony should be eliminated from next year’s budget.

Firstly, the argument’s use of “self-supporting” is very vague. What does it mean to be self-supporting? Does this mean that the symphony is profitable from all the ticket sales and after paying all of its workers? Or is the symphony able to run, at a loss, without city funding? Because we do not know this, we can’t assume that the symphony will be able to run for long after losing city funding. Had the argument stated that the symphony was profitable to an extent greater than the amount of city funding, then city funding most likely would not be needed anymore.

Furthermore, the argument assumes that because private contributions increased by 200% does not mean city funding is no longer needed. Without any concrete numbers, a 200% increase can be a substantial amount of money or very little compared to the amount the city offers. For example, in the previous year, private contributions were only $100, therefore this year, private contributions were $300 this year. Compared to city funding, which gives tens of thousands every year, increased private contributions will not make the symphony self-supporting.

Lastly, the argument claims without warrant that increasing the prices of tickets next year will increase sales. We cannot assume this correlation. For one, an increase too steep will deter customers from watching the symphony and may choose not to go or explore a cheaper option, such as a lower priced ticket at a rival symphony. Had the argument shown via a survey that customers would still patron the symphony after a price increase, then it would strengthen the argument. However, we cannot assume this information, which makes this argument not valid.

Because the argument makes server unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that city funding for grandview’s symphony should be eliminated from next year’s budget.