Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two different regions. The buildings were erected by two different construction companies Alpha and Zeta. Even though the two buildings had identical floor pla

The author of the argument states that because the building constructed by Zeta has lower maintenance costs, lower energy consumption, and lower turnover rate than Alpha, the new building project will be constructed by Zeta. The premise of this argument is not completely cogent from a logical standpoint because it fails to address three questions that are critical to the understanding and validity of the argument presented.

First, the author states that the cost of construction of the headquarters built by Zeta costs 30% more to build than the headquarters constructed by Alpha. The author does not provide any numbers on the actual cost of construction, only percentages. If we assume that the construction cost charged by Alpha was $100,000 then the construction cost charged by Zeta would be $130,000, only a $30,000 difference, which isn’t much for a large, highly diversified company. Therefore the difference in prices would be nominal and the company would not be spending a significant amount of money by choosing to contract Zeta instead of Alpha.

Furthermore, the writer states that the building’s expenses for maintenance last year were only half those of Alpha’s. Again, the writer does not provide any data to back this claim. A savings of half can make a big difference or be negligible. Lets say that the maintenance expenses for the office built by Alpha was $20,000 and for Zeta was half of that, $10,000. That is a savings of $10,000 in one year. Over the next 10 years, the company would be saving $100,000, easily covering the $30,000 price difference assumed in the previous paragraph. Therefore, in the long run, the company would actually be saving more money by choosing to work with Zeta instead of Alpha.

Finally, the argument claims without warrant that what holds true 10 years ago will hold true today. So even if we assume that the benefits of choosing Zeta over Alpha are the same, the argument is still lacking because it does not provide enough information to show that the general economic climate has not changed. If indeed the benefits are the same today as they were 10 years ago, then choosing Zeta over Alpha to construct the company’s new headquarters will indeed be cost beneficial in the long run.

By provided data on exact costs for the company and proof that cost benefits has not changed, the argument could garner a stronger basis for reasoning. However, without this information, the argument fails to make a convincing case that using Zeta will be more beneficial for the company than using Alpha.