Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall stu

The argument makes a number of unwarranted assumptions that Omega graduates are not successful at obtaining jobs because grades at Omega University is overinflated. If these assumptions do not hold true, the argument will be invalid.

The argument claims without warrant that Omega graduates are unable to secure jobs solely based on grades that do not accurately reflect on student achievement. The argument does not provide any criteria in which potential employers look for in candidates. Omega graduates could be looking for jobs in which they are unqualified for because they do not have the relative work experience needed or leadership skills. Had the author provided information on what employers were looking for in their candidates then it would strengthen the argument.

Furthermore, the argument fails to provide any justification that Omega and Alpha graduates are searching for the same positions. For one, Omega graduates could be searching for an engineering position, which is much harder to get, while Alpha graduates could be settling for retail or restaurant positions, hence a higher employment rate.

Finally, the argument claims without warrant that what held true 15 years ago would hold true today. So even if we assume that the graduates of Omega is similar to graduates of Alpha, the argument is still lacking because it does not provide information to show the job market has not changed. Had the argument shown employment rate is unchanged or even less, and then it would strengthen the argument. Of course without that, the argument is not valid.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that Omega graduates are unable to obtain a job solely based on their inflated grades.