In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the passage, the author says that Mason city government should devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities for the Mason River is rarely used for water sports.

He assumes that the problem of the river's water and smell can be totally solved once they allocate the budget to improve. It's likely that there are many factories located along the riverside emitting lots of polluted substance regularly, and these toxic substances sometimes even emit the odoriferous smell, harmful to the residents' breath system. Even though the government go all out to solve the problem as much as it can, it's possible that the problem may be unsolved until it decides to legislate the ordinance and enforced it strictly with the high penalty. On the other hand, it's also likely that the smell is resulted from many decades of sediments accumulating at the bottom of the river, which cannot be cleared in ten years. In this situation, although the government has enough budget to eradicate the smell, it still cannot solve the problem in a short time.

He also assumes that the sequence of their favorite sports represent that they would really participate in these activities if the river is clear and the riverside recreational facilities are improved. It's likely that most of the residents live far away from Mason River, and they may prefer some land sports or even stay home to these water sports they chose. It's also likely that they can go swimming at the gym or the sports center, so they don't have to spend time commuting to the riverside only for swimming.

The author mentions that there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and smell. However, he directly contributes these two reason to why the river is rarely used for these water sports. It's possible that these two reasons indeed are part of the reasons residents aren't willing to play sports in the river. However, it's likely that there are also other reasons for them not choosing exercising in the river. Perhaps these unknown reasons are more solvable to the government and it's rather low-cost compared with the expense of improving riverside recreational facilities. On the other hand, he also makes an assumption that rare use of the facilities means that they have to be improved. It's possible that the equipment is good enough, but the problem is that few people go to use them.

To sum up, before persuading the government to devote more money in this year's budget to riversides recreational facilities,the author should provide more concrete reasons with the officers to successfully convince them.