The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station."Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the comp

In the presented memo, the business manager of a television station recommends to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level in order to draw more viewers and advertising revenues. At the first glance, this recommendation seems logical. However, the provided evidences cannot fully support his or her argument. To make a more compelling case for the recommendation, the manager should take the following points into consideration.

First, the business manager assumes complaints about coverage of weather and local news means the television station should add more time to these two programs. However, additional evidence is needed to validate this supposition. It is possible that viewers are not satisfied with the content of the news because compared to former programs, current weather and local news do not provided accurate prediction or amusing news. Further, the time arrangements of the two programs may be too late. Most viewer who want to who these programs have to sleep early. In these cases, it will be meaningless to devote more time on the two programs. Therefore, in order to corroborate the argument, the author needs to provide more details.

Second, the manager makes a wrong causal relationship that local business partners canceled their advertising contract due to the decreased time of weather and local news. This is gratuitous and more evidence is needed to rule out other possibilities. Perhaps the local business partners does not have enough money to continue the advertising contract or they have better ways to maximize their profits with the amounts of money. Without giving any further evidence, this causation is not tenable.

Finally, based on the aforementioned points, the author proceeds to propose a far-fetched assertion that the television station should restore time of weather and local news to its former level to attracts more users and avoid losing advertising revenues. Even if the above point that audience complain about the time devoted to the programs, it is plausible that the number of complaints is small while a larger group of viewers like national news. The reduction could cause complaints among these users and thus result in a loss of viewers. In consideration of this, the manager should present more evidence to substantiate the recommendation.

In conclusion, though the argument is not entirely invalid, the presented evidence could not fully support the recommendation. To strengthen it, the author should give more details.