The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position

The topic raises a controversial issue of whether the self knowledge can be earned at its best by rejecting friends and familes. Indisputably, friends and families are important for everyone to make their life happy and sanguine. Indisputably, to achieve goals in life, one has to discard their friends and familes for better development of themselves. Hence, a person should achieve its target by only focuses on it irrespective of giving attention to any other aspect.

First of all, friends are the only one who distracts you from your goal in life. Now a days, many friends are jealous of your success. They can not be called a true friend. A true friend always helps and support you in every aspects of your life whether its an occassion or any dangerous problem. The great scientist Albert Einstien, doesn't have any friends and that's why he was able to focus fully on his work irrespective of anything in his life. Additionally, a great annonymous saying, pracitce makes a man perfect is only possible when you only foccuses on your target and practice for it. The current Indian cricket team captain Virat Kohli is a suitable example in this case. He has left his own family to achieve his target of playing for India. Now he has become a great player of cricket and has registered his name amonst the greatest player in cricket history. Thus, one has to abandon his friends and families if they want to achieve their goal.

Furthermore, some families supports their children to achieve success in life. For instance, many parents admits their child in the boarding schools at a very small age and keep them away so that he can achieve success. Since parents know that getting success of their child is as important as getting their own success. Thus, in every case putting friendship and familiarity aside, one has to focus only on their target irrespective of anything else in their life.

Finally, in human history, there are numerous people who had abandoned their friends and families in order to achieve their target whether its spirituality or sports or anything else. Like in today's scenario, many has to leave their friends and their luxurious life just for an exam like GRE which is very crucial for them. Therefore, in order to achieve something, you need to abandon something and that leads to the path of success

In conclusion, although friends and families play a crucial role in our lives, abandoning them also plays a vital role for achieving success in life.