The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes here that since there is a decline in birthrate from past five years so substaintial amount of funds should be reduced from school as well as athletics playing field so that they can devote it for adults in the city. At first glance, the author's argument appears to be convincing, but further reflection reveals that it's based on some dubious assumptions. The author fails to provide proper evidences and examples on the basis of which this argument can be evaluted.

First of all, the author assums the decline in population of children from past five years continues for next ten years as well. Although, it could be possible that the population of children could increase drastically in next ten years and the effort of reducing the number of resources for students as well as atheletes become futile. For example, if there adult population is higher currently in the city, then definitely the birth rate will going to increase in the future. Presumably, the possibility of children to transfer from other city to this city could also be possible for the increase in population after few years. Thus, if the author has provided some more information about different age groups of people who are currently living in the city, the argument would have been more convincing.

Secondly, the author didn't mention anything about the usage of athletics playing field as well as recreational facilities. Since most of the adults love sports and wants to stay fit, it could be possible that the adults living currently in the city are also using those fields and recreational facilities at greater extent. For example, In most of counties, all the adults like to play football and imitate the best players of their time. Hence, without having much information about the current usage of athletics playing ground, it's funding should not be declined.

At last, the author assumes that the adult population will be expected to increase in the next ten years. Furthermore, the author also mentioned that there is a decline in current population of children. However, it's impossible that the decline in children population will enhance the number of adults in future. For instance, if the population of children of age from 10 to 15 is already declining, then the possibility of adult age from 20 to 25 will also gets declined in future. Hence, the author should provide the information about the number of adults who're already there in the city as well as the number of childern who're using those athletics playing fields and recreational facilites so as to give the proper direction to budget of the city of Calatrava.

In conclusion, the author's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide clear concrete evidences to devote the city budget for the facilities used by adults, perhaps by the suitable analysis of the age group and usage of athletics playing fields as well as recreational activites. Finally, to better evaluate the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about the number of children and the number of adults who are using the current city facilities.