The following appeared in a memo from the marketing director of Top Dog Pet Stores.

"Five years ago, Fish Emporium started advertising in the magazine Exotic Pets Monthly. Their stores saw sales increase by 15 percent. The three Fish Emporium stores in Gulf City saw an even greater increase than that. Because Top Dog has some of its largest stores in Gulf City, it seems clear that we should start placing our own ads in Exotic Pets Monthly. If we do so, we will be sure to reverse the recent trend of declining sales and start making a profit again."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The marketing director of Top Dog Pet Stores claim that by putting their aids in the Exotic Pets Monthly magazine, their sales will get enhanced and they'll start to make the profit. Stated in this way, the director failed to mention several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. To justify this claim, the director further assumes that by advertising in Exotic Pets Monthly magazine, more people will get to know about Top Dog Pet Stores and the advantages of purchasing pets from this store. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence provides little creditable support to directors' claim. Hence, the directors claim can be considered as incomplete and unsubstantiated.

First of all, the director claims that five years ago, since the sales of Fish Emporium has enhanced after touting about their stores in Exotic Pets Monthy magazine and hence the same will happen for Top Dog Pet Stores if they started to adverting in that magazine too. Furthermore, it could be possible that the sales of Fish Emporium has declined afterwards due to any reason like people's apathy in pets and fishes since the director has not provided any further information about the sales of Fish Emporium. Moreover, it can also be considered that the Exotic Pets Monthly magazine has become out of interest for readers and has become less popular compared to that five years ago. Thus, without having any information about the sales rate of Exotic Pets Monthly magazine and sales rate of Fish Emporium, we cannot really say anything about the enhance in sales for Top Dog Pet Stores and thus would make the claim inadequate to consider.

Furthermore, the director mentioned that the sales rate of Fish Emporium has increased by 15 percent after their advertisement in Exotic Pets Monthly magazine. However, a 15 percent increase may not be considered as a huge sales increase since the acutal number of sales from Fish Emporium is not given. If the actual sales rate is already low then 15 percent increase or 20 percent increase wouldn't affect the sales rate that much. If the director had given information about the exact number of sales in Fish Emporium then it would make the argument more cogent to analyze.

Finally, the shops can't be compared directly on the basis of their sales since one is selling the fishes and other is selling the dogs (as their name suggests Fish Emporium and Top Dog Pet Stores). Since it is obvious that many people would like to have a fishpot or aquarium in their house or shops or at various places and hence the sales of Fish Emporium is humongous. Also many people won't like to buy dogs and small pets for their home instead they would like to buy a fishpod which will enhance the beauty of their place where they spent much of their time. Therefore, the director needs to provide details of any other pet shop who have enhanced their sales by advertising in Exotic Pets Monthly magazine so that it can be compared with Top Dog Pet Stores.

In conclusion, the directors' argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it futher, the author should provide concrete evidences, perhaps by the way of reliable survey about the number of pet stores specifically dog stores whose sales has enhanced after touting in the Exotic Pets Monthly magazine. Finally, to better assess the argument, it would be necessary to know more about the interest of people in buying pet dogs for their house.