The following appeared in a memo at XYZ company.

"When XYZ lays off employees, it pays Delany Personnel Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating résumés and developing interviewing skills, if they so desire. Laid-off employees have benefited greatly from Delany's services: last year those who used Delany found jobs much more quickly than did those who did not. Recently, it has been proposed that we use the less expensive Walsh Personnel Firm in place of Delany. This would be a mistake because eight years ago, when XYZ was using Walsh, only half of the workers we laid off at that time found jobs within a year. Moreover, Delany is clearly superior, as evidenced by its bigger staff and larger number of branch offices. After all, last year Delany's clients took an average of six months to find jobs, whereas Walsh's clients took nine."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author argues that XYZ company should take the subscription of Delany Personnel Firm instead of Walsh Personnel Firm to help laid-off employees getting their jobs. Stated in this way, the argument failed to consider several factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. To justify the argument, the author reasons that Delany Personal Firm is better for getting job for employees early and effectively rather than Walsh Personnel. However careful scrutiny of the argument provides little creditable support to author's argument. Thus, author's argument can be considered incomplete or unsubstantiated.

First of all, the author failed to mention the information about the annual packages of employees which have taken subscription from Delany and Walsh Personnel Firm. For instance, if the annual package of employees who have taken subscription of Walsh is much higher than those of Delany, then would be inadequate to consider the Delany Personnel Firm's subscription. Moreover, if Walsh is providing jobs to employees in a reputed company where they can work for a long period instead of Delany where the company can hire people in contractual basis or their chances of getting fired are higher, like in case of startup jobs, then it would be better option to go for Walsh Personnel rather than Delany.

Secondly, since author had claimed that eight years ago they have taken the subscription of Walsh Personnel Firm and many of the employees failed to get the jobs within an year. Possibly, their employee wouldn't posses that much skills at that time to survive in the market or may be the requirement of jobs for the skills they posses were low at that time. Comparatively, since Delany has provided more jobs last year may be due to the enormous number of vacancies in many companies. Or it could be possible that Delany have got the jobs for people in various call centers at very low salaries. Hence, the information about the skill-set of employees and available jobs for them should be given by the author in order to better assess the claim.

In conclusion, the authors argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author should provide clear concrete evidences either by the way of reliable survey about the types of jobs which employees got after subscription of either Delany or Walsh. Finally to better evaluate the information, it would be necessary to know more information about the number of employees with higher annual salaries who have taken advantage from subscription of either of the two firms.