"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of accidents caused by bicycling has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, there is clearly a call for the government to strive to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents by launching an education program that concentrates on the factors other than helmet use that are necessary for bicycle safety."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author argues that the number of accidents are raising as people are not aware about the precautions that needs to be taken while riding bicycles. Furthermore, an education program needs to be conducted by the government in order to educate people about safety rules while riding bicycle. Stated in this way, the author failed to mention several factors on the basis of which the argument needs to be evaluated. To justify it further, the author needs to give more evidences which shows that the accidents are caused due to lack of knowledge about the safety precautions for riding bicycle safely.

First of all, the author mentioned that although the number of people wearing helmets rises from 35 percent to 80 percent, the number of accidents enhances to 200 percent. However, the exact number of people are not mentioned in the argument which makes data inadequate for the analysis. For example 35 percent and 80 percent could be a few people and hence it would be necessary to know the exact amount of pople who were riding bicycles and wearing helmets. Moreover, the author have claimed that the percentage of accidents caused raises to 200 percent in last 10 years but the author has not given any information about the past number of accidents. Suppose if the number of accidents caused in the past 10 years is one due to lack of bicycle riders, enhancing it to 200 percent doesn't make the information adequate. Thus instead of giving information in the form of percentage if the author had provided the exact number of accidents caused 10 years before, the argument could be analyzed more convincingly.

Secondly, it is necessary to know about the exact reason for accidents of bicycles. May be possible that the accidents caused due to damaged road or slippery track during rainy season. If that was the cause then it is the responsibility of the government to repair those roads and tracks not bicyclists. Moreover the author failed to provide more information about the accidents of bicycles with bikes and cars. Another possibility of accidents could be rash driving by the driver of bikes and cars. If that is the case, then the government should increase the safety by lowering the speed limit or enhancing the number of traffic police in the city. Or instead of educating those bicyclists, they should focus more on educating those bike riders and car drivers. Therefore, if the author had mentioned more information about the reason for those accidents, the argument could be evaluated in a cogent way.

Furthermore, some more information should be given by the author for extrapolating the areas in which most of the accidents occurred. For example, suppose there is a highway in the city where people like to ride bicycles and that highway has a low width, then definitely the accidents happen. So in this case if the width of highway is enhanced then it would definitely decline the number of accidents. Furthermore, accidents are caused in some hilly then some more safety needs to be provided by the government to decline the amount of accidents. For instance, the government could provide some signals or signs about the sharp turns or they can build a boundary around the roads to insure the safety of bicyclists.

In conclusion, the author's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author needs to provide better evidences either by the way of reliable survey about the cause of accidents of bicyclists. Finally, to better evaluate the argument, it would be necessary to know more about the data in the form of number so that it can be compared and analyzed adequately.