The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve overall productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The director claims that taking the Easy Read course by the employees benifited them greatly since it has enhanced the productivity of many companies. Stated in this way, the director's claim is full of dubious assumptions since it fails to mention several key factors on the basis of which the claim needs to be evaluated. To justify this claim, the director needs to answer several question which could make the argument more cogent.

First of all, the director said that many other companies greatly enhanced their productivity by taking the Easy Read subscription. However, the word "greatly" and "many" doesn't convincingly show the exact amount of companies which are benifited and how much they're benifited. Although, it could be possible that many companies have reduced their productivity after taking the subscription. Furthermore, the director shows the ability of a graduate to read a 500-page report in two hours and an assistant manager to become the vice president, although its not stated in the claim whether they have taken the subscription or not. May be those guys were extraordinary with respect to the other people and that's why they were able to perform their tasks tasks quickly with respect to others. If the director have given the information about the exact number of companies which are benifited from Easy Read course subscription and the number of people benifited from them with resptect to the number of people who have wasted their efforts in the subscription, the claim holds a convincing position.

Scondly, the director is assuming that faster reading is the only factor due to which a person can absore more in a single day. However, there are various other factors like understanding of that content which you have read and its complexity should also be considered for getting maximum amount of information from that content. The director failed to mention whether Easy Read course subscription are convering those factors as well or not. Furthermore, the director mentioned that Easy Read course is giving free seminar for three weeks in Spruce City but he doesn't mentioned the location of their Acme Publishing company with respect to the city. It may be possible that the company is far more than Spruce city or may be in another city. We don't really know. If the that is the case, many employees end up wasting their precious time in going to that seminar and end up tired and thus the productivity of Acme publications may decline.

Furthermore, instead of spending 500$ on Easy Read course, the director may think of some other subscription which can benifit employees more than that which Easy Read subscription is giving. Possibly, some video subscription can be given to employees since most of the people has great higher ability to see rather than visualize.

In conclusion, the director's argument is unpersuasive as it seems. To bolster it futher, the author must provide more concrete evidence perhaps by the way of relibe survey about the exact number of companies and people which have enhanced their productivity only due to Easy Read subscription. Finally, to better evaluate the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about why the productivity enhances only after taking the subscription and not due to another ways.