Claim: Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Reason: It is inappropriate—and, perhaps, even cruel—to use public resources to fund the arts when people's basic needs are not being met.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The topic raises a controversial issue about whether the government should fund for arts or not if the nation's economy is low. Indisputably, in today's era of technology, art and creativity has been declined and should be praised by people as well as government. Nevertheless, if the public resources are limited in a country, then the government funds should be given for public needs instead of arts. Thus, the government should help people instead of the arts where the citizens are indigent.

First of all, the government is formed from people of a country. Their first aim should help the poor people and enhance the growth and economy of a country. In order to achieve this, the government should stop funding on unnecessary resources and enhance the fund for education and food. Since good education is a necessity for the growth of an individual as well as the country. Hence, the government should enhance funds for schools and colleges so that everyone will get a substantial amount of knowledge so that they get the job and enhance the nation's economy. For instance, the Indian government in the state of Bihar, which is an Indian state with the largest population in India, has reduced the student's fee enormously and provides them free meals in their lunch in order to make their state grow. It has influenced Bihar so much that there GDP(an index to measure the economy of a state in India) has increased greatly within a shorter period. Had it been possible if the government had spent the funds for some other purpose like funding arts? Therefore, in order to enhance the growth of the nation as well as individual, the government should use their funds for a necessary purpose which will give future benefits to the people.

Secondly, although in today's era of technology, the interest of people towards art has been declined enormously. Due to a high cost of living and low salary in art background, people are getting away from arts and thus government has a responsibility to preserve the art from extinction. In order to achieve this, they should fund arts in order to preserve and promote it. However, it depends on a nation whether they have the necessary funds for arts or not. For instance, In London, many exhibitions are held for arts and cultures in order to make people aware of the history of arts and many people are sanguinely attending those exhibitions and praise their art. Is the same thing possible for a country with a low economy like Bangladesh or Bhutan? Since it is glaringly obvious that poor people can't focus their interest in arts if they're not even getting food for their survival. Hence, if the government help these poor people in education and survival, then possibly in future, some people might choose arts as their hobby and wants to pursue their carrier in it.

In conclusion, a country should be known from its people, hence it's the responsibility of their government to enhance their economy by providing funds for education rather than anywhere else. If people are educated and knowledgeable then they will make the world a better place to live.