Claim: Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Reason: It is inappropriate — and, perhaps, even cruel — to use public resources to fund the arts when people's basic needs are not being met.

In my opinion,basic needs required to survive should be accessible to each and every citizen of a nation.There may be different reasons that sometimes some people are deprived of food,shelter and clothing.Govenment as a responsible institution elected by the people is responsible for welfare of the citizens.However,that doesn't mean in order to provide good facilities to people it should suspend funding for arts.The above statement states that government should stop providing funding for arts is based on the reason when people's basic needs are not met it is worng to use public resources for other purposes.However,I completely disagree with the claim and reason put forth by the author.

Firslty,a nation can be described as a complex society especially today as it encompasses numerous cultures,beliefs and lifestyles that coexist in a small place.In addition to that,economy of is another aspect which need to be guarded by the government.Therefore,there is lot of uncertainity on problems that could arise anytime.There are countless reasons a significant portion of citizens are inaccessible to basic needs such as natural calamity,economic depression,lack of skills,lack of infrastructure....etc.However,to look after the needs of the people,governement need to find the exact reason of the issue than taking action on other areas like arts.arts represents the unique culture of a country and also livelihood for portion of population.

Furthermore,government collect taxes from various sections of people who are citizens of the country.Therefore,no providing funds to arts is like targeting the wrong aspect as artists would be affected which in turn leads to same situation or further increases the unemployment.In fact,providing the resources for arts leads to promotion and attracts outside attention.For example,consider India as a country with lot of scope for arts.The government allocates significant portion of it's budget in promoting the traditional and cultural arts especially in remote areas where most of the tribes are situated.This provided a livelihood for the tribal groups and most of the remote locations became tourist places.

To conclude,funding of arts and upliftment of standards of living for people are mutually exclusive issues that need to be dealt with different approaches.