Claim: Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Reason: It is inappropriate—and, perhaps, even cruel—to use public resources to fund the arts when people's basic needs are not being met.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based

Art and innovation state a country's prosperity, but when the country is in privation government funding should be stopped because is cruel to use that money on art when common people are live in penury. I, personally agree with the statement and going to provide some epitome to bolster my stance.

The government funds should be used for public welfare. Funds are common people tax paying money and should be used in corroborate the economy and industry and solve the unemployment problems. When people's basic needs are not being fulfilled then use that money on art prosperity is wrong and inappropriate. Besides, the government can not profit from painting or arts when people do not have jobs and foods how they could buy or appreciate the art.

Instead of using government money there is always another source like private funding. There is a myriad example when an artist creates art in private funding. In the era of the great depression, art projects and other exhibitions had failed, because people do not have the luxury to visit the exhibition. Innovation and art have a relationship with the country's prosperity. For example, in a war zone, a child does not demand painting or people does not demand a museum.

On the other hand, people might argue that art and innovations are a form of income for people and seal the opportunity from them is also cruel. But, when a country is in emergency government funds, should be used for peoples shelter, foods and jobs creations. Besides, there is plenty of philanthropic who could help artists.

The epilogue of the topic I would say that art is for inner expression and imagination and imagination does not work in hunger. The statement does not tell to stop the funding forever, just suspended for the time of emergency. When a country is in depression, using government funds might sound harsh and unfeasible decision.