An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

The crux of the topic is that patient should have access to his or doctor's records whether the doctor treats similar cases or not and that might ailing patients to choose better doctor for him or her. I personally disagree with the statement for the following reasons and Iam going to provide some epitome to bolster my stance.

First of all, doctors are one of the most respected profession in our society and also considered as next to god, they have the power to save a life. Relationship between patient and a doctor is based on trust and respect. If the patient is skeptical about his doctor's qualification or caliber then distress introduced between then, and even when the doctor is right, the patient will be ambiguous about the treatment. And, sometimes believe can cure and help to overcome a situation. So, any conditions which can create distrust between doctor and his patient must be eradicated.

On the other hand, it might be possible that a recent graduate doctor is prolific and have astute to precept an illness, but as he does not have an experience in his field patients tend to avoid him. That might cause harm to a doctor's profession and patient's health and overall healthcare system. Also, sometime a new kind of pathogenic bacteria or viruses introduced and due to our recent medical advancement, we found new viruses in a regular basis. For example, when first ebola came into our knowledge no one had any idea or experience how to deal with it and by rigorous research and experiment and treatment, we can now somehow cure some cases. If patients think no one has experience in that field and so he will not eager to get treated by anyone, this would be fatal.

On the flip-side, people might argue that patient must have access to the records for better choice because it would be better for patients and patients have advance hand in treatment. It might be true that in some cases, because experience on similar cases might help to easily discern a disease and help patients, but that not always is the case, sometimes can create distrust between patient and doctor. For example, when penicillin first introduced it had no past but, even though people first skeptical, for later days penicillin had a huge effect on humankind. If patients refuses on the basis on doctors experience on medicine or on records they might have died.

At the epilogue of the topic, I would say that we should not introduced any system that can hamper relationship between patients and doctors. Also, a name in the profession can not be made from thin air, it requires years of practice and study.