TPO-07 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The statement is widely debated all over the world that should we give priori to clear the fundamental concept of a subject or students just learn facts. I am agreeing with the statement.

The important question is how our exam system should be, is it should base on facts and what happens previously or should be based on understanding the main idea and concept behind the topic.

Our education system in our modern days is exam based. Students have to clear an entrance exam to enter a school or college or a course and students mugged up the subjects rather than understanding the concept, to pass the exam. Concept and idea be always priorities than facts. For example, every exam in our engineering course has mathematics and peoples usually try to remember some mathematical formula that would be useful in the exam but as soon as the exam was over they forget all the formulas and this is the bad side of memorizing some facts. In the other cases, if a student understands the idea and concept of a formula rather than just memorizing the formula, they can always remember the formula and never forget it. Education should always inspire students to free their minds and think differently and inspire them to invent new ways. If a student doesn’t understand the subject he or she can never love that and they don’t love the subjects that only harm students marks and they won't inspire to invent new things.

In the other side, some people think that, if the subject is history or some literature then there is the least thing to understand or clear the concept. For example, in history students actually memorize year of some battle or some invention or some events, there are not many things to understand. But I would say that, if students learned the behind story of an historical events or cause of that incident they could have easily memorize the facts. For some literature subjects, for example, English students learn it's etymology to understand where it's coming from or learned it's phonetics to know how the words sound like. Thus the idea or concept behind a subject is important than knowing only that facts or memorize the formula or incident. Undemanding the idea students better understand the subject. By understanding the subjects they could be passionate about those subjects and that inspire them to invent.