The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The crux of the topic is that studying history dispels the illusion of people's or imagination that they are living in significantly different from people who lived in earlier times. I personally disagree with the statement for the following reasons and I am going to provide some epitome to bolster my stance.

First of all, history is generally viewed as a single overall topic but history has it's own classification, for example, archeology to study a place or a structure's history and history of science or history of the evolution of humankind. History teaches us to learn about the past and significant incidents or how far we have come from the earliest humans. The history not only describes the timeline of incidents but also told us about human characteristics and their living habits in a particular era.

History taught us to discern the different timeline and era and the living style of human in that particular era. For example, from archeological evidence, we knew that from the earliest civilization people living in small enclaves and in the later days they unify more to form a large society and build a city. We also know that people lived in the stone age, living differently from bronze age or there is myriad difference comparing to modern civilization. In the earlier civilization, for example, Egypt or Harappa taught us how they differ from other civilizations at that time and also their living quality and their believes and characteristics of the society. Learning the past history greatly helped us to apply those in our modern cities.

On the other hand, the history of science taught us assumptions had made in the past and the evolution of science. for example, Galileo to Newton to Hawkins how far the science, research, and innovation has come comparing to times when the humans started their civilization. History also gave us knowledge about the change of modernization of our medical science and from the discovery of penicillin to the modern medicines. from history, we also knew about the effect of war, from the experience of world wars we now circumscribed the conflicts and avoid the wars. So, it is not a delusion that we live in different conditions than the past living styles.

On the flip-side people might argue that it is the only illusion that we are different than our ancestor, we still fight to each other and made the same mistakes. We criticize and categorized people on race and ethnic groups. It might be true in some cases the world is getting better and comparing to the age where we lived under a kings rule we now live in a democracy. We might not be in perfect shape but we are getting better and from history or historians categorize our human civilization in different ears which are different from each other.

At the epilogue of the topic and from the above reasons I would say that history does not break illusions about the statement had made but the benefit of history is to discern different timeline and their significance and we learn and experience from them so that we should avoid past mistakes and make good use of the adoption of good side of earlier societies.