TPO-20 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The definition of successful people is hard to define because success could come in a different manner and peoples are successful in totally different kind of field. Successful peoples could be famous or could be not, no one knows them outside their respective field. I personally partially agree with the statement that successful peoples take the risk instead of following a traditional line, but they sometimes try new things but sometimes just became successful by doing what they best can do. I am going to give various examples to bolster my vision.

According to our traditional definition, successful peoples are those who brought evolution to our human history. They swim against the stream and do something unconventional. First of all, there are two people, the first Elon Musk and second is Mark Zukerburg. Elon Musk is the perfect example of how he leaves his traditional ideas and ignore what the best of doing and introduced Tesla and SpaceX. Let travel a bit earlier to understand his ideology. When he was in the early twenties he built a game and sell that, the money he got he became CEO of PayPal and again he sells his shear and built Tesla and again he sells all of his profit to established SpaceX. Even though, he had no idea about space exploration or building an electric car. So, he left his comfort zone and does something that needs risk. But again he was not totally in dark or do not know anything about space or electric engine, because he left his Ph.D. to follow his dream, but again he got his background from his knowledge of physics.

Another person is Mark Zuckerberg, he left his undergraduate study in the final year to established Facebook or reestablished Facebook, as he already makes that software. He left his study to follow his dream and took a risk. But he is the best at doing coding, so he became successful what the best of doing.

There are other examples of famous peoples who became successful by taking the risk but they did not go outside their well-acquired knowledge. For example, some famous revolutionary scientists like Aristotle or Copernicus. They both took the risk of went against traditional ideas or against the church. That cost them severely, but they established their principle. Again they both became successful by doing what were they best of. There are also many people who are not that famous in outside of their field. For example a famous doctor, who is barely known outside of his field or an employee of a company, who achieved prestigious prizes for his company but not well known by others.

To recapitulate this, I would say that successful peoples do take the risk to change the conventional ideas and bring change to our society, but they do not leave their well-acquired knowledge. They actually use the knowledge to establish themselves. They leave their comfort zone to do something different but by doing what are they best of.