"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

the argument is about the use of margarine instead of butter and the author claimed that customers do not complain and may not distinguish between margarine and butter. The argument is based on unwarranted assumptions and flawed for the following reasons

Primarily, the author told that only two percent of people complain and that means ninety out of a hundred people are satisfied with the change. The author baffled between the total number with a percentage. In might possible that more than a hundred people complain in the actual number. Also, there is a backslash in their customer since the change. So only two percent of people launch their complain does not mean people are satisfied with the change. They might not complain because of varied reasons. it might possible that there is no proper feedback counter or the restaurant does not take feedback seriously. The author does not provide the method used in surveying the customers. It might possible that only trifle part of customers took the part in the survey.

Furthermore, the author claims that many customers do not complain when they got, margarine instead of butter. The people may not complain because they might be the first time customers and they were not informed about the change. It might possible that the server straight servers them margarine and does not tell them about the change. Some customers might not complain because they thought butter might not available.

The author also claims that customers may not able to distinguish between butter and margarine. The author does not provide any information about how many products that serve with margarine. It might be possible that their best selling products were without butter and since the butter change with margarine actually does not affect the people and some people who ate the margarine products complain about them.

The mentioned argument is based on unwarranted assumptions and unfeasible reasons. The argument is flawed and failed to provide any convincing data that proves that the change of margarine is positive.